Mother’s Day Gift Guide

I am writing this post for the men. I know you all have a hard time buying gifts for your wives and mothers. Maybe some of you ladies do too, but I’m going to assume it’s mostly the men-folk. So ladies, feel free to share this post with the guys in your life. ūüôā

If I had a little more time on my hands, I would post a picture to go along with all my suggestions. But time is limited (and I’m sure yours is too) and all you’re getting is links. Sorry. Please do click on them all, because I have picked some unique items and a portion of the proceeds to almost all¬†of them¬†go to worthy causes. So more than just for Mother’s Day, I think this is an awesome birthday/Christmas/any celebration gift list!

Origami Owl is a hot and happening jewelry company. I have one of their living lockets and love it. One of the families from our travel group is having a fundraiser to help bring home their second child from China. If you would like to order, please make sure to click on this link! http://lifesahoot.origamiowl.com/default.aspx

I recently learned about Better Life Bags. This company provides jobs for refugee women in the Detroit area. You can read more about this awesome business here. I haven’t purchased anything from them yet, but I am dying too. You can design your own bag or purchase one of their ready-made items.

Through Facebook, Instagram and the adoption world, I have come across several Etsy shops recently that are selling items to support their adoptions or the adoptions of other families. One shop is Echoes of Mercy . She has different prints that you can purchase either through a digital download or that come matted. I am particularly loving the Mother’s Day print.

Standard Goods is another Etsy shop. 100% of their sales go toward bringing home their child from China. They have the most gorgeous, handmade, leather products.¬†My current fave is the brown leather clutch. And at $39, it’s a steal!

The 1500 Tree Project is a fun little Etsy shop full of happy trees and¬†Mother’s Day goodie¬†packages. I actually ordered a tree last week for EB’s room. She mailed it today and I cannot wait to get it. Sales go toward her second adoption.

The Adopt Shoppe designs gorgeous, unique jewelry. Many of them are adoption related, but she has other styles too. She will be restocking tomorrow night (Tuesday) at opening 9pm CST. I haven’t purchased anything from her yet, but have been eyeing several pieces. Apparently she sells out quick, so be ready to order! You can check out her designs on Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest. Now that her adoptions are complete, she helps other adoptive families raise money with her products.

BeWee Shop carries several different items, but the most popular seems to be her engraved leather bracelets. Many of them are engraved with Bible verses but you also have the option to design your own. I spotted one with my favorite verse on it, so I will definitely be purchasing at some point.

Back to Africa is another company that sells beautiful, handmade jewelry. I have the Do Justice leather cuff and get compliments every time I wear it. The jewelry is made by women in Kenya and the proceeds go back to these women. You can read more about their mission here. Back to Africa also provides the option for adopting families to have fundraising parties. For those of you that are local, my friend Janna is a consultant. She has several pieces in stock, so please let me know if you would like to get in touch with her. And I also still plan to have a home party with her soon!

Last in this section is the precious bird nest necklace from Joy Wares. This business was started by Ann Voskamp’s son as a way to raise money for Compassion International and to help provide clean water in Africa. It’s also on sale right now for $19.99! (sidebar if any of my family is reading, in addition to this necklace, I really want the Cradle to Cross Wreath. Feel free to wait until my birthday or purchase as an early Christmas gift ūüėČ )

If none of the above gifts strike your fancy, I decided to list a few of my favorite books or ones that are on my to read list.

Rhinestone Jesus by Kristen Welch. Ordered my copy last week and so ready for it to arrive! A large portion of the proceeds will go toward supporting Mercy House in Kenya.

Sparkly Green Earrings (I literally laughed out loud throughout the entire book) and The Antelope in the Living Room (I’m sure it’s just as hilarious) by Melanie Shankle.

A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet by Sophie Hudson. Can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet, but I have heard it’s excellent too. The blog posts of hers that I’ve read are pretty funny, so I know the book has got to be as well.

The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith.¬†I am intrigued by this book because I don’t have a lick of decorating skill. I know what I like when I see it, but haven’t the faintest idea of how to pull it all together. This book has gotten great reviews, and not just from a decorating standpoint.

Ok, I have worked on this for a good bit longer than I anticipated, so I’m going to wrap it up. I sure hope you will be able to find a Mother’s Day gift (or even something for yourself) in this exhaustive list!

 

 

Leave a Reply

