Skipping Christmas

I read this cute little book by John Grisham a few years ago. For those who haven’t read it, the main characters decide to skip Christmas and go on a cruise since their daughter will be out of the country. Well last year I was ready to skip Christmas myself, but for different reasons. I’m not exactly sure how it all happened, but I just became extremely overwhelmed (and to be perfectly honestly), pretty disgusted with the materialism and consumerism that has overtaken Christmas. Please tell me I’m not the only person who feels this way! There are lots of things I could say, but instead I encourage you to read this post by Jen Hatmaker. She is a much better writer than me and a heck of a lot funnier. (Hopefully you’ll want to read more of her posts. She literally makes me laugh out loud. I feel like we could be best friends). Anyway, she sums up the issue of Christmas pretty well.

http://jenhatmaker.com/blog/2011/11/29/the-christmas-conundrum

I learned about the Advent Conspiracy last year so I place some of the blame (in a good way though) on them. (finding Jen’s post this year really solidified things for me). It only took me 29 years to realize that the day we set aside to celebrate our Savior’s birth isn’t really about Him at all. And even though my eyes were finally being opened, I didn’t do anything different as far as how I celebrated. Jeremy and I have talked more this year about what we want Christmas to look like for us from now on, especially with EB coming next year.  While we haven’t figured it all out yet, I hope we are on the right track. I’ve also come to realize that the “right track” for my family may look completely different from yours and that’s ok. My hope is that we’ll all reflect on how we celebrate Christmas and in the end become intentional on making Jesus the focus.

I’ll be back tomorrow with part 2 of my mini-series on Christmas…

 

One thought on “Skipping Christmas

  1. Pingback: The AC « The Unexpected Life of the Lee's

Leave a Reply

