Between Halloween and Christmas

I have promised everyone that I’m going to blog about the yard sale and our updated timeline, and I will as soon as I get this off my chest. For those of you who may have missed it, I am quite opinionated. And I’m not always tactful in sharing my views. In fact, Jeremy and I are a lot alike in our thinking. That may come as a shock to some and even scare you a little. But that is why we are married. And probably don’t have many friends. ha But I digress…

Have we (and by we, I mean Americans) totally forgotten that there is a holiday between Halloween and Christmas called Thanksgiving?As soon as the costumes were put away and all the candy eaten, out came the Christmas decorations and Santa’s arrival at the mall. (I almost fell out of my chair at church yesterday when mother told me kids were already lined up to see him). What in the world people?  The one day a year that we set aside to express our gratitude for the too many blessings to count in our lives, has now been shoved to the back burner for the materialism and consumerism that has overtaken Christmas. The irony is not lost on me. And don’t get me started on the massive amounts of food we cook, stuff ourselves with and then end up throwing away what’s left while there are starving people all over the world. Is anyone with me on this or am I just flying solo over here?

We seriously need to make a conscious effort not to glaze over Thanksgiving. We may not have everything we want, but I can guarantee you have everything you need. I read this morning that if you make $35,000 a year you are in the top 4% of wealth in the world. If you make $50,000 you are in the top 1%. Half the global population lives on less than $2 a day. $2 a day!

As Christians, we are to be thankful every day. Not just one day a year, or for the month of November on Facebook (nothing wrong with that by the way, it’s just not how I roll. 🙂 )

Please know that I am not judging. I know there are plenty of days that I don’t thank God for anything because I’m too busy asking Him for something. And I’m also the girl who has two plates at the Thanksgiving table every year. Just ask my family, they will tell you.

One of my top 5 favorite books is One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. If you haven’t read it, you are missing out. It was such a blessing to me during the infertility and changed my perspective on gratitude. I should let you know that the first chapter is kind of a downer. Chapter 2 was above me and hard to follow.   Maybe you all are smarter than me and won’t have trouble comprehending. My friend Kerrie and I read this book together. At that point I’m pretty sure she was wondering what I had gotten us into. Once you get to chapter 3 though, you will not want to put the book down. For many reasons, I think it’s a great time to re-read this book. If you want to join along, let me know! I would love some good discussion.

November 22 will be here before we know it. Let’s not allow it to be just a day of eating and scouring the paper for the best Black Friday sales. May it be a day to enjoy our families and thank God for all He has done for us, none of which we deserve.

~ Rejoice always! Pray constantly. Give thanks in everything, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. *1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18.

Leave a Reply

