Mother’s Day Recap and Adoption Update

As always, Mother’s Day was such a fun day. And as I stated in a previous post, I felt like I could celebrate this year. Jeremy and my mama thought so too because I got something from each of them.

When I got in my car to head to mama’s, I found a card taped to my steering wheel. It was very sweet and I was surprised to see it even though I had dropped hints all week about the upcoming holiday Jeremy always remembers to buy cards and gifts for holidays.

When I got to mama’s she gave me my first official Mother’s Day present. It was a book called Baby, We Were Meant for Each Other by Scott Simon. He and his wife have adopted two daughters from China. I can’t wait to read it! She had also written a sweet note on the inside.

For those of you who don’t live in this area, the forecast for last Sunday was rain all day basically. We were disappointed because we always go to Pier Park to eat and shop. And shopping outside would not be so fun in the rain. But when we pulled out of mama’s driveway it wasn’t raining and I think the sun may have been shining. Well, about the time we got to Bonifay it started raining and it didn’t stop until we got to PCB. It was raining so hard at times I could hardly see the road. And for the longest stretch we met car after car with their flashers on. We never saw a police car or a wreck so we’re not sure what that was all about. We wondered if that’s just something people in FL do in heavy rain. If anybody can shed some light on that, please so.

Anyway, my aunt called as were driving and said there was a tornado watch in Washington County. Well mama and I couldn’t exactly remember what towns comprised that county. We decided Washington County was probably more towards Highway 77 (we were on 79) and that we were ok. Well about two minutes later we saw a Washington County sign. I think it was at that point we wondered if we were stupid for even continuing to drive toward the beach. But we trucked along and decided if nothing else we would get some good lunch and come back home.

We would have never thought it possible considering how nasty the weather was for our drive, but when we pulled into the parking lot at Pier Park, the rain had stopped and the sun was shining! It ended up being a beautiful day and we were so thankful. The water was gorgeous (even though we never go down on the beach, I always have to look. In between all the stinking high rises that is) and people we actually out on the beach despite the red flags being up.

We ate lunch at Reggae J’s. That’s been our restaurant for several years now. When Pier Park first opened I think we ate at Margaritaville. Prior to that I think we ate at Schooner’s. I always get the crab cake sandwich with sweet potato fries and it’s so good. The crab cakes are certainly not Red Bar quality, but they are still pretty tasty. The sandwich comes with a tomato jalapeno tartar sauce. I am not a fan of regular tartar sauce, but this stuff is yummy. At the bottom of this post is a picture of all us girls!

After lunch we walked Pier Park and did some shopping. Actually window shopping because mama and I didn’t buy a thing! Which is pretty shocking. To top the day off mama and I always stop at the Homemade Ice Cream Shoppe. If you have never been, you are missing out and need to get yourself there the next you’re in PCB. I’m not sure how old this joint is, but it’s pretty much a hole in the wall. (they actually have a Facebook page if you’re interested) It’s at least been around since Jeremy was a child because they went a lot during their annual beach trips. Anyway, my two favorite flavors are peach and coconut. I went with coconut this time because I think I got peach last year. It was divine. It was so creamy and had coconut flakes in it and typing this is really making me want some!

We finally headed home late that afternoon. I so enjoy getting to spend Mother’s Day with my mama, aunt and cousins every year. I keep thinking about next Mother’s Day and wonder where we’ll be in the process. Who knows, we may be in China getting our baby. Wouldn’t that be the best Mother’s Day ever? ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, for the adoption update. We finally heard from our social worker Sherry this past week. She is coming on the 29th for our first home study. This will consist of our home tour and first interview. For those of you who know Jeremy, you know he is a clean/neat freak and OCD about our house. So thankfully we will have a long weekend to get our house in order. Just pray we don’t kill each other in the process. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

20120520-200606.jpg

One thought on “Mother’s Day Recap and Adoption Update

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day When You’re Not A Mother | The Unexpected Life of the Lee's

Leave a Reply

