Something Unexpected

For those of you who actually follow my blog, you know I’ve been on hiatus for about a year. But as you will read about shortly, I believe I have a topic that will keep me blogging this time.

First, I would like to say that I am not pregnant. I’m sure that’s what most of you were thinking I was announcing. And for those of you who are unaware, Jeremy and I have been trying for three years to have a baby. If you didn’t know that, there are probably two reasons why:

1. You didn’t constantly harass me about when we were going to have kids and force me to tell you what was going on with us. 🙂 (and I say harass as lovingly as I can)

2. I just didn’t want to talk about it.

Over the past three years, we didn’t understand why we couldn’t get pregnant. But now we know that God has different plans for us. And doesn’t He always? (Isaiah 55:8-9) So without further delay, we are beyond excited to announce that God has called us to adopt from China!!!

In order to keep this post from turning into a novel, I will say just a few more things. I have so much more to write about including our journey through infertility and how we arrived at our new path to China.  Please make sure to come back and keep reading my posts so you can get the whole story!!

We were lead to this decision about 7 weeks ago. We had only told our family and a few friends. In case you don’t know, adoption is quite expensive and we knew we would have to save some money before we even began the process. So we didn’t really feel the need to make a public announcement before we officially started the paperwork. I was so eager to get started but I was trying hard (but failing miserably) to be patient. I just knew that if God wanted us to adopt that He would provide the money. Jeremy believed this too, but also felt that we needed to be smart and save/raise a good chunk first. He has been looking for a third job and I’ve been researching ways to make some extra money. (FYI, selling things on Craig’s List has not proved to be successful).

I appreciate and respect my husband immensely for being financially smart and prudent. But at the same time, I wanted him to just take a leap of faith with me! Jeremy tried to keep me grounded by reminding me of the amount he wanted to save and how long it would probably take to get that much. Which only discouraged me. I felt like it would be a year or longer before we could start our paperwork. I kept joking and saying that I wish some money would just fall out of the sky.

Well, it pretty much did. It amazes me how God chooses to bless us. Just when we least expected it we were given what we needed to start the adoption process.  We are still shocked but are so incredibly grateful that there are people who have such giving hearts. Now we are able to begin this incredible journey to our daughter!! We have enough to send in our application, get through a couple of home studies and a lot of the paperwork.

Jeremy and I will still have to fundraise and save a lot more however. We are currently thinking of fundraising ideas (anybody up for a 5K?) that will help with the remainder of the adoption expenses and hopefully not have to interrupt the process at any point. Because in case it wasn’t clear, we are quite excited! If it were up to me, I’d be in China next week! Anyway, for those of you who don’t know my husband well, he is very cautious about how to handle the fundraising. He knows we need help (as do all couples who adopt), but hates the idea of having to ask for it. So we have decided that we will not ask anyone directly to give money, buy something, etc. We will certainly post our fundraising activities on Facebook and here on the blog though. And as we have already seen, we know that if God leads someone to help us then they will and that ultimately He will provide.

As for our start-up money, it couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. We are now able to do this alongside our dear friends Stephen and Alison Sanders who are also adopting from China. You can follow their blog at http://mixinguptheblonde.blogspot.com/ Alison so badly wanted to announce our adoption last week when she announced theirs. 🙂  Jeremy and I are so thankful and blessed that we get to do this with them!

I can’t wait to share more with all of you, so please check back soon!

15 thoughts on “Something Unexpected

  1. Tears of happiness are flowing. I’m so excited about being a Great Aunt. Whatever I can do to help y’all, I will. I love you so much. Aunt J

  2. so excited for you guys. My brother Chris (in Texas) has two adoptive children and He and Mary Jane are truly blessed with a daughter and a son. God’s Blessings all around you both as you embark on this journey. Prayers sent your way. Love you both.

  3. I just got out of bed when I saw your message to read my email. Congratulations!!! You are both going to be excellent parents and she is so blessed and doesnt even know it yet!!!! We are excited about this journey for you and YES I will even run and raise money doing a 5k for Roxie’s sister! Love you guys, Deanna

  4. Awesome, so excited for you all! God will make a way when there seems to be no way. He works in ways we cannot see.

  5. Prayerfully excited for you all. Our friends, the Colberts, completed the long process only a few months ago. Keep us posted. Let me know when to start sewing!

  6. So happy for you both! We had some friends who all pitched in together on a big yard sale with multiple families, etc. and all of the money raised went towards the adoption. That is NOT asking for money. It’s helping people get rid of their ‘stuff’ that they don’t need anyway! Congratulations!

  7. 1. I love that you announced this during National Infertility Awareness Week! WAY too many couples suffer through infertility silently for far too long. It’s a shame that people don’t understand that you can’t “just relax” or “just do IVF” or “just adopt” as if these were cures. It’s definitely a heartbreaking process and I’m so sorry you’ve had to endure it but, I’m so glad that you have seen God’s hand and trusted his path through it all.

    2. Y’all will be amazing parents and I’m so excited for you. Praying for the process to go smoothly and praying for your baby girl 🙂

  8. Lindsey, I am excited for you and Jeremy and so glad that you are sharing with your blog followers so that we can all pray for God’s hand in your journey!!!
    Elizabeth S.

  9. So happy for both of you. Praying for both of you and your baby girl. Let me know when you decide on a fundraiser. I would love to help out. You will be an awesome Mother!

  10. Pingback: Hoping For An Early Christmas « The Unexpected Life of the Lee's

Leave a Reply

