Good Friday

I was thinking the other day how odd it must seem, most specifically to non-believers that we call today Good Friday. When we think about all that took place on that Friday around 2,000 years ago, how can we say that the mocking, beating, and suffering that Jesus endured was “good”? For those of us who believe in Jesus Christ as our Savior we don’t like to think about the physical and emotional pain that He took for us. But we know that it was all part of His good and perfect plan. For without the sacrifice, there would be no atonement of our sins and we would be lost and doomed to an eternity in hell. But God sent his Son to live a perfect life, die on the cross and be raised from the dead in order that we might be saved! Thank you Jesus for your gift that can never be repaid. 

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. ” ~ John 14:6 

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. ~ Galatians 2:20 

For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast. ~ Ephesians 2: 8-9 (emphasis mine)

Now when the sixth hour had come, there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour. And at the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice saying, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?” which is translated, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken Me?”

And Jesus cried out with a loud voice, and breathed His last. Then the veil of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. So when the centurion, who stood opposite Him, saw that He cried out like this and breathed His last, he said, “Truly this Man was the Son of God!” ~ Mark 15: 33-34, 37-39

One thought on “Good Friday

  1. Anna Clare and I just watched that video together. So powerful. I love that song. I remember the choir at church singing it on Easter when I was growing up. Thanks for sharing and Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

