Is this T-ball or the major leagues? Because I’m confused.

My 5 year old nephew is playing T-ball this year for the first time. So far he, his parents and now Jeremy and I are not big fans. And they haven’t even played a game yet. Here is why:

His team had practice yesterday and will have 5 more practices next week! 5! (They practiced some last week too. The first game is March 21st) Is it just me, or does that seem like a lot? When my brother played T-ball back in the day I don’t remember them practicing that much, if at all. To me 5 year olds are still babies, so teach them a few basics and let them get out there and have fun. That’s what it should be about after all. Plus it’s much more entertaining to parents and other family members when they all run after the ball, play in the dirt and eat grass in the outfield.

Also, the T-ball teams will have playoffs. No, you didn’t read that incorrectly. I said playoffs. Seriously? Why in the world do T-ball teams need to have playoffs? They don’t even keep score during the games! So I’m not really sure how that’s going to work out.

I’m just going to go ahead and say it.  Dothan is slightly obsessed with baseball. Which is why we have 5 year olds in T-ball in playoffs not to mention children in elementary school on traveling baseball teams.  I just don’t get why 7 and 8 year olds need to play in tournaments all over the state. Shouldn’t that be saved for high school at least?

Yes, Jeremy and I will be the worst and meanest parents ever. 🙂 And it’s easy for me to make all these comments now when I don’t have children. It’s certainly possibly that I could change my mind. If so, then I’ll just have to eat these words. I guess it all boils down to priorities and this realm of intense baseball is not a priority for me. Obviously I (and Jeremy too, which is why we are married 🙂 ) think a lot differently than most people. Not just about this, but on many things.

But I’m not totally crazy. I read a blurb in HomeLife a few months ago about this same topic. I’m sure it was stated a lot nicer than how I’ve presented it. But tact has never been my strong suit. I’ve just scoured the internet and I can’t find the article online. But basically the author stated (using gymnastics as an example) that if you have your child at practice 4 nights a week because you think they might be on a collegiate team one day, then perhaps you should reevaluate some things. The author also said something to the effect of that the chances of receiving a scholarship is slim, unless the child has a natural God given talent. Therefore all the money that will be spent through the years on lessons, etc. could have paid for the child’s college. Plus how much family time are you missing out on or church because you’re a the gym almost every night of the week? Just some food for thought. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Is this T-ball or the major leagues? Because I’m confused.

  1. I feel like I can add a lot to this post. My youngest brother was a soccer phenom. He was on a TRAVELING soccer team at age 4. It was a little overwhelming…but, almost necessary if you want to play at a high level. He played on the Olympic Development Team for 6 years. He won a National Championship with a team out of Huntsville…yep, a 6 hour drive one-way for practice and games. He made the State playoffs with his highschool team…BUT, burned out at the age of 16. He could have been amazing in college…he had D-1 scholarship offers left and right. But, it was too much too soon…and he walked away. I learned a lot from his experience. I might just hold back on my children when it comes to early competitive sports…a little. =)

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience. And I totally agree that waiting until children are older is a good idea because I think sports are good for kids to be involved in for many reasons. That’s sad your brother burned out. Who knows what he could’ve been?

Leave a Reply

