Happy Valentine’s Day!

I love Valentine’s Day as I do all holidays. I’m just one of those people. I may not always go all out with my decorating, but I will color coordinate my outfits to match the occasion or have earrings to go with whatever holiday it might be. This used to crack up one of my college roommates.

Anyway, even though I do still love V-Day, it’s not as exciting to me as it once was. I feel differently about this holiday the older I get. When I was in middle and high school I longed for a boy to send me flowers, candy or a teddy bear to school. Our Beta club also sold sing-a-grams (I guess that’s what you call them) and we would sing to folks in the lunchroom and classrooms. Most years on Valentine’s Day I didn’t have a boyfriend. But I hoped so much that maybe somebody liked me and would surprise me with one of these gifts. Sadly, I never did get surprised by a secret admirer. And how depressing February 14th used to be. There were a couple of years in high school though that I did have a boyfriend.  Now I’m not sure what gifts I even got! Oh how things that were once so important aren’t any longer. And isn’t that a good thing?!

Jeremy and I met on February 15, 2002. (Wow how time flies!) We were set up on a blind date by mutual friends. I worked with the wife and he with the husband and they thought we would be perfect together. We had another set of mutual friends that we actually went on our date with. They however never thought to set us up and didn’t think we would be a good match! Anyway, the girl I worked with called her husband and told him to tell Jeremy that he should send me a present of some sort to my work. He wasn’t so sure about that given we had never met. But she talked him into sending a bucket of cookies from River Nile I believe. They came in this cute bucket that had been painted and said Happy Valentine’s Day. There was also a card that said “Love, Jeremy”. We laugh still laugh to this day about that because he told the girl specifically not to put love on the card because he had never met me! We were talking about it last night and he asked why I ever agreed to meet me after that. I told him it was most likely due to never getting gifts like that in middle and high school. I was just so excited somebody sent me something, even though it was somebody I had never laid eyes on!

That particular Valentine’s Day ended up being quite out of the ordinary aside from Jeremy’s gift. I had another guy also interested in me and he sent me flowers to work. I mean, isn’t that the way it always goes? Either nobody is after you or several guys are. (But I know I made the right choice in choosing Jeremy. 🙂 ) And even though I had these 2 potential candidates, I was still moaning and groaning to my friends at Wallace about being alone and not having a boyfriend. So two of my buddies went to Wal-Mart during our lunch break and got me a little present. They were so sweet! So when I showed up at home that afternoon with all my gifts, my parents were just as shocked as I was! It was pretty funny.

Ok, so back to my original topic. Since being with Jeremy and more specifically since we’ve been married, I just don’t care about the gifts anymore. Now don’t get me wrong, I love to get presents. But I don’t need that anymore. What I want and what matters to me is to just be with Jeremy. Our typical V-Day celebration consists of going to eat Japanese food and going to a movie. This year we went to Weekend to Remember as our gift to each other which I will post about soon. Tonight we are at home. I’ve got a casserole in the oven and we’ll probably watch a movie later. I actually bought some taper candles and thought we would light them and use some pretty candlesticks we got as a wedding gift that have never been used. Maybe we’ll even use our fine china and crystal.

I guess I’ve also just realized how commercialized and more or less made up Valentine’s Day is. Although I do find the history of St. Valentine to be interesting. I’ve  also tried to think about other types of love besides romantic love, like friendship and the love we have for our families. And of course, God’s love for us. I think that’s a good focus for everyone to have instead of getting caught up in all the other stuff. I just hate for people, well girls, to be sad on this day like I used to be. And probably everybody reading this has been at one time or another.

I know this post has been all over the place. So if you’ve made it to this sentence, thank you for sticking with me!

I hope you all have a wonderful Valentine’s Day no matter what you do or who you’re with.

This is how we have come to know love: He laid down His life for us. ~1 John 3:16

 

Leave a Reply

